Driving in MN After a DUI/DWI Arrest or Conviction
In Minnesota, you can be arrested for a DWI if your alcohol concentration level is 0.08 or higher. Receiving a DWI conviction can come with costly consequences, one being the loss of your driver’s license. However, Minnesota does have some options for you to retain your driving privileges.
Driving After Being Arrested for a DUI/DWI
After being arrested, your MN driver’s license will immediately be revoked. However, Minnesota law does give you a grace period to make necessary arrangements if you’re facing a suspension of your license.
Before your license is suspended for an extended amount of time, you’ll be granted the right to drive for seven days with a temporary license. After this seven-day period, your temporary license will expire.
Driving in MN After Being Convicted of a DUI/DWI
If you’re convicted of a DWI, your license can be suspended or revoked. The type of penalty and length of suspension will all depend on the circumstances of your case, your blood alcohol concentration (BAC), and whether you have prior convictions. Some of the penalties offer Minnesota drivers options to continue driving.
- A BAC of 0.16 or under: You won’t have driving privileges for 90 days, but you do have two choices to continue driving. The first choice is not driving for the first 15 days and then receiving a limited license for the remaining 90 days. The second choice allows you to retain your full driving privileges, but you must install an ignition interlock for the entire 90-day period.
- A BAC of 0.16 or over: Drivers have a choice between one year of no driving privileges or installing an ignition interlock for one year as a restriction on their license.
- A BAC of 0.16 or under: Drivers can choose between losing their driving privileges for one year or installing an ignition interlock for that year.
- A BAC of 0.16 or over: Penalty options are either two years without driving privileges or two years of having an ignition interlock-restricted driver’s license.
Third, Fourth and More Offenses
- Third offense: Your license will be canceled for three years. However, drivers can have a one-year limited license with an ignition interlock if they enroll in treatment, and two years of an ignition interlock-restricted driver’s license once they complete treatment. During these three years, there must be no detected use of drugs and/or alcohol.
- Fourth or more offense: Your license can be canceled for four years or more. Similar to a third offense, these penalties provide options for drivers to have an ignition interlock device and to enroll in and complete treatment, with no detected use of alcohol or drugs.
Talk to a MN Attorney if You’re Charged With a DUI/DWI
If you or a loved one is arrested for a DWI, the first thing you should do is talk to an experienced attorney. At White & Associates, our criminal defense team can review your case and help you navigate the process. Call us today at 763-241-0477 or send us a message.